Oz in the News 5.9.24

The Wiz Star Avery Wilson Talks His ‘Bold’ Scarecrow Performance in Hit Broadway Revival

Did you grow up watching The Wiz?

Oh my gosh! The movie I grew up with as a kid, for sure. Over and over again I remember watching “You Can’t Win,” that specific scene, but the crazy thing is that I never envisioned myself being in the role. I just was so, I guess, in awe or enamored by Michael Jackson and not seeing him be the entity that he is with the hat and the glove and the sparkles and the this. He was a very different thing on screen. It was a transformative thing that I thought was so interesting to me. But I feel like it’s just a part of our culture, to be honest. It’s something that we all grew up with, I feel like, whether it be the stage play or the movie, but the movie was my introduction.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.