Oz in the News 6.3.20

Her Father, The Cowardly Lion: Bert Lahr’s Daughter Shares Her Memories of ‘The Wizard of Oz’ Star “His gravesite is supposed to have perpetual care,” Jane says in an exclusive interview. “Well, I don’t know what they mean by perpetual care, but as we got there we saw there wasn’t a lot of it being done. But on his stone, a child had left a toy lion, and that speaks to me of Dad. We fixed up the gravesite, I planted a plant and we moved the little toy lion right up front and left everything in good shape. But that’s when I really think of Dad; the thought of that child leaving that lion. I can see a mother with a little boy, saying, ‘Oh, this is the lion in The Wizard of Oz’ and the toy is left in tribute. It’s so sweet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.