Oz in the News 11.24.15

image

Judy Garland’s ‘Wizard of Oz’ Dress Fetches $1.5 Million at Auction  A dress worn by Judy Garland in the 1939 movie “The Wizard of Oz” sold for $1.56 million at an auction in New York on Monday. The blue and white gingham dress, one of 10 thought to have been made for Garland in her role as Dorothy in the movie, was among the top items in the Bonham’s and Turner Classic Movies Hollywood memorabilia auction. Described as bearing sweat stains around the neck but in good condition, it had been expected to sell between $800,000 and $1.2 million. Monday’s $1.56 million sale price includes commission. The buyer was not identified.

Shanice Williams steps into Dorothy’s shoes for NBC’s ‘The Wiz Live!’  Williams says she has a strategy for working with her illustrious co-stars. “I have to pretend that I don’t know how amazing they are just to get through the day,” Williams said, adding that she pretends not to have Ne-Yo’s music on her phone. “I love him so much, but I can’t be fan-girling. I have to do this to cope.” As for stepping into Mills’ and Ross’ glittered heels, the young new Dorothy keeps her grandmother’s words in the back of her mind, doing away with nerves to make the role her own. “Diana and Stephanie, they did it two completely different ways,” Williams said. “But they were legendary. I feel like I have this one chance to make it my own. I connect with Dorothy in a lot of ways, and I think everyone’s going to like what I bring.”

Leave a Reply

