Oz in the News 12.10.14

MaguireFirst Guest announced for the 37th annual Oz-Stravaganza! Festival  The International L. Frank Baum and All Things Oz Historical Foundation announced recently that author Gregory Maguire will be attending the 2015 event. Gregory Maguire is the author of “Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West”, the novel that inspired the blockbuster musical play, (now in its twelfth year on Broadway).  Maguire will be a part of the weekend’s programming as well as meeting fans and signing autographs. The annual Oz-Stravaganza! Festival celebrates all things Oz in Chittenango, the birthplace of L. Frank Baum, the author of the “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz.” The event is a fundraiser for the non-profit, all volunteer International L. Frank Baum and All Things Oz Historical Foundation. The dates in 2015 are June 5, 6, and 7.

‘All Things Oz’ Museum Opens for Tours, Shopping  The “All Things Oz” museum, located at 219 Genesee St. in Chittenango will be open for tours and Christmas shopping Dec. 13 and 20 from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.  The museum is a 501C3 non-profit and is run by an all volunteer staff. 100 percent of the money raised is used for the museum and the annual Oz-Stravaganza! festival.  New Oz merchandise is arriving daily including books, crafts, stuffed animals, tee shirts, wall hangings, collectibles, magnets, painted bricks, posters, trading cards, movies, puzzles, games, buttons, aprons, autographed items, dolls, stickers and much more. Museum memberships are also available. Check out the museum at: allthingsoz.org.

The Wizard and I: Meet Wicked’s Great and Powerful Tim Kazurinsky  “One time my wife called about my kids, so I shut off my squawk box speaker system for a moment. I didn’t hear them announce that they were putting in a different Elphaba because the other Elphaba had gotten sick. I came out for the second act, and there was a different woman on stage. I was the only person in the building who didn’t know that they changed Wicked Witches. I’m like, OK, I’m in my 60s, I know I’m getting old and senile, but I don’t remember this woman from the first act! The first minute or two, I was like, I’ve lost the plot, I’m officially in dementia land. But then I got over it. I steadied the ship and pressed through.”

Leave a Reply

