Oz in the News 10.11.14

v9getgtc4ma03dvn4dmaThese Stunning Illustrations Restore Awe And Wonder To The Wizard Of Oz  Rice Boy creator Evan Dahm has gone back to the book’s text and is illustrating a new edition of L. Frank Baum’s classic novel. Dahm recently launched a Kickstarter campaign for his new illustrated edition of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. The edition will include 100 of Dahm’s illustrations—24 full-page illustrations, one for the start of each chapter, and dozens of spot illustrations. If you want a copy of the hardcover book, head over to Kickstarter and back his project. I also highly recommend checking out Dahm’s webcomics, including Rice Boy, Order of Tales, and Vattu. You can also see more of Dahm’s Wizard of Oz work, including his sketches, at the Baum by Dahm blog.

Emily Tierney: ‘I’m always cast as a witch – I don’t know what that says about me’  ‘My sisters’ children want to be in musicals now because of us. I think they want them to have nice sensible careers and not follow in Auntie Em and Uncle Will’s footsteps. I’m so pleased because my sisters’ kids are the right age to come see a show now – they think their auntie Em is a fairy. One of them was asked in school the other day what their aunts or uncles do and she told them: “Well auntie Em is a fairy…” I’m not going to correct her on that.

 

Leave a Reply

