Oz in the News 9.7.12

Skottie Young Revisits the Emerald City in “Road to Oz”  I guess the original illustrations are my first place I look, but they inform the character designs more than the style. But before I look to that, I always start with Baum’s text.  Enrique Fernandez is a brilliant artist that produced an adaptation of Oz in France, later published by Image here in the States. I had the French edition for years when I took this job, so I knew that was something I needed to put away and try to erase from my mind. He nailed it in my mind so it was going to be hard to shake it. But I did an OK job of taking my own path. I basically just start drawing and try to push myself as far as possible while staying true to the Baum story.

Illustrator’s Latest Show Taps Into ‘The Wonder of Oz’  On Wednesday, September 5th, from 5PM to 11PM, Long Beach resident and children’s book illustrator Arlene Booth debuts “The Wonders of Oz,” an ironic and whimsical artistic interpretation of her favorite classic American story. The exhibition, hosted by 4th Street’s Art du Vin, consists of fifteen original works ranging from “Tallest Man” featuring a munchkin on stilts, to “Son of Can” a reimagining of The Tin Man as the apple hidden mystery man from Rene Magritte’s “Son of Man.”  “The Wizard of Oz is by far my favorite movie,” Arlene says. “I had it on repeat while I was working on the exhibition, I must have seen it hundreds of times, and it still hasn’t gotten old.”

Off to See the Wizard: The Wiyos bring their traditional yet cutting-edge sound to Tucson for the first time “This is a movie that most people in this country have seen, some more than others, or at least they are familiar with the aspects of it,” Farkas says. “Everyone knows something about it, so to some degree, they know a little of what to expect, but you can also draw on their familiarity to work with themes and structure. And in terms of allegory and symbolism, it is an endless treasure of material.”

No place like home for Kohl’s Wizard of Oz exhibit  The new exhibit features W.W. Denslow’s famous illustrations, which helped inspire the design of the film everyone knows and loves. Sheridan Turner, president and CEO at Kohl, says it’s particularly exciting to have the exhibit in Chicago, the city where Denslow and author L. Frank Baum worked together on the project. “The entire exhibit is very whimsical and bright,” says Turner. “Children will love it because it’s a story they are so familiar with.”

Leave a Reply

