Oz in the News 7.31.12

Watches and lunch boxes and Teddy bears! Oh, my! Mrs. Rosebrook has stuffed Oz dolls and a set of clay dolls in a picnic scene. There are watches, lunch boxes, place mats, plates, CDs, DVDs, Teddy bears, and a collection of cows dressed in Oz outfits in her collection.  The graduate of Toledo’s Woodward High School and her husband, Howard Rosebrook, live on the family farm in Deshler. In 2000, she attended the International Wizard of Oz Club convention at Indiana University. That stunned some people. “They did roll their eyes when I said I was going to a four-day convention. It was the neatest thing. I learned so much,” she said.

Carrie Underwood “Blown Away” Premiere: Watch Country Star’s Wizard of Oz-Inspired Video  The country star reveals more about the subtle touches, like her pair of ruby slippers red shoes, in the clip. “We wanted to create this modern-day, tragic Wizard of Oz mini-movie,” the singer said in this behind-the-scenes interview from the set of the video. And from the yellow brick road to the colorful conclusion, we’d say she did.  And did we mention the puppy?

Tony winner Paul Kreppel dazzles as Wizard of Oz in Montreal-bound Broadway musical Wicked  “I had no idea what my next line was and I’m looking over at [the actress who plays the wicked witch Elphaba], and then I open my mouth and I changed one word!” Kreppel explained to me the following afternoon. “When I looked back at her I could see in her eyes that she knew I had changed the word. She was giving me that look, ‘I hope you know the rest of it because I’m not going to sing it!’”

Judy Garland’s 1960 Amsterdam Concert set for CD Re-Release  “This release will include the full programme of 30 songs as performed by Garland plus interviews with Garland, Sid Luft and conductor Norrie Paramor.  The booklet will be lavishly illustrated with photographs of Garland performing on stage at the Tuschinski Theatre.

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz returns to the Kohl Children’s Museum  This fall, follow the yellow brick road to the Kohl Children’s Museum for a chance to step into the pages of “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz” from September 24, 2012 through January 6 2013. The exhibit features the illustrations of W. W. Denslow, a Chicago resident whose famous illustrations helped to inspire the design of the classic 1939 MGM film starring Judy Garland. The bright and colorful exhibit provides a variety of learning opportunities and hands-on activities within a three-dimensional representation of Denslow’s distinctive illustrations.

Leave a Reply

