Oz in the News 4.15.12

A ‘Wicked’ veteran considers musical’s enduring appeal  “I’m always surprised when somebody comments about the Wizard being the villain of the piece. I think very few villains see themselves as villains. True villains, as a rule, don’t see themselves as such. I think the Wizard is a very simple guy, a very ordinary man who, due to circumstances beyond his control, found himself in an extraordinary situation where he became feared and deified in Oz. Being a simple man, he rode with it. He got himself carried away. As he says, ‘What can I say, I got carried away, and not just by a balloon.’ It’s an easy thing to do when people imbue you with supernatural powers.”

Mila Kunis on ‘Oz: The Great and Powerful’ “Shooting a CG-heavy movie turned out to be good training for Oz: the Great and Powerful, which also stars James Franco, Michelle Williams, and Rachel Weisz and is due out in March of 2013. “Oh, my gosh, it was amazing,” she says. “I don’t even know where to begin. Going from Ted to Oz was great, because I got to work with imaginary, inamimate objects. In Ted I practiced that, so by the time I went into Oz it wasn’t so hard to envision things going on around you.”

‘Wizard of Oz’-themed, first-person obituary by Saginaw Township woman goes viral  I’m off to see the wizard, the wonderful Wizard of Oz. Let us rejoice in what was a pretty cool life along my Yellow Brick Road. I, Michael E. Duvall, was loved — from the day I was born, Dec. 14, 1949, in Madisonville, to the day I died, April 7, 2012. Already awaiting my arrival in Emerald City are those who passed before me: my parents, Cecil and Mary Lucille (Morgan) Duvall, my niece Amy, and my first son, Jonathon M. Duvall. I’ve thought a lot about Jonathon over the years, and I look forward to our reunion. Left here in the Land of Oz are my beloved Munchkins and maybe a Flying Monkey or two. I wouldn’t dare say which is which.”

Leave a Reply

