Oz in the News 4.13.12

World’s largest collection of Wizard of Oz memorabilia finds a home in Camden  Who knew that the Yellow Brick Road leads to Penobscot Bay? We were as surprised as anyone to learn that a collector of all things Oz has decided to make Camden a showplace for his treasure trove. With more than a hundred thousand items in his possession, Willard Carroll has amassed the world’s largest and most valuable collection of Wizard of Oz memorabilia. Within the next two years, an unassuming former furniture workshop on route 105 will become a Wizard of Oz museum. Included in Carroll’s archives are wonders sure to make any Munchkin’s heart melt with delight: the Wicked Witch’s terrifying hourglass; Dorothy’s gingham dress; original conceptual drawings for the 1939 movie sets; and the most complete remaining costume from the film — that of the green Munchkin of the Lollipop Guild. “That’s everything, including the underwear,” Carroll says.

Q&A with the Wizard of “Wicked”  “I was hoping to be hired for Elphaba, but I’m not right for it. (Laughing) At this point, I can’t imagine doing anything else. … A lot of my friends had done the role and were asking why I hadn’t done it. The timing came and I contacted my agent. I auditioned and here I am.”

Leave a Reply

