Oz in the News 1.25.12

Strictly over the rainbow! Russell Grant swaps sequins for emeralds as he lands the part of the Wizard of Oz in the West End  Grant will step into Michael Crawford’s shoes for a 12-week run at the London Palladium in the Andrew Lloyd Webber production. Grant, 60, will also play the character of Professor Marvel. He said: ‘I am thrilled to be back where I’m at my happiest – in showbiz.

 

No More Memorabilia Auctions For Debbie Reynolds– Movie icon Debbie Reynolds is refusing to sell off the remains of her Hollywood memorabilia collection after two highly successful auctions – because parting with movie costumes and props has been a painful experience.  “I don’t want to do anymore. I was going to do two more, but I’m not going to do it. They’re exhausting, they’re depleting and they’re depressing for me and too hard. It goes too deep. I still have a lot of my things but I decided to become rich.”

Council OKs 2012 Chesterton Wizard of Oz Festival At its meeting Monday night, the Chesterton Town Council voted 5-0 to enter into a contract with the Duneland Business Initiative Group (DBIG), the organizer of the annual Wizard of Oz Festival, governing this year’s edition of the extravaganza. The agreement is identical to last year’s with this exception, Town Attorney Chuck Lukmann noted: DBIG “is not going to have the Saturday night festivities.” The dates of the 2012 Wizard of Oz Festival: Sept. 15 and 16.

Leave a Reply

