Oz in the News 11.18.11

Michelle Williams: I’m reinventing my ‘Wizard of Oz’ character  “I’ve already watched the ‘Wizard of Oz’ a lot, because it’s one of my daughter’s favorites,” Williams said during a recent trip to Los Angeles to discuss “My Week With Marilyn,” which opens here Wednesday. “But Sam didn’t want to be bound to Glinda of old, anyway. He wanted a fresh take on it. In the ‘Wizard of Oz’ film we all know and love, she’s omniscient and doesn’t have a lot of human qualities. She’s not fully realized in that way — she’s not a dimensional person. That’s where she ends up, and my Glinda is where she’s starting out.”

Leave a Reply

