Oz in the News 10.6.11

No place like home for Royal Court panto star rescue dog ‘Toto’   A RESCUE dog who delighted audiences as Toto in the Wizard of Oz had his own happy ending after being adopted by a new owner. Eight-year-old mongrel Jacob had been at Dogs Trust Merseyside, in Huyton, for more than a year when staff put him forward for a starring role in the pantomime at Liverpool’s Royal Court. Dog’s Trust manager Georgina Lowery, said: “We knew he was a star from the minute he arrived and because he was so good with people he used to accompany our education officer on some of her school talks. “When we heard a theatre company was looking for a dog to take part in the Wizard of Oz we put him forward even though he wasn’t the right breed or size for a traditional Toto.

Interview: Max Lucado on Storytelling  “When I was 10 years old, I was a munchkin in the play the Wizard of Oz. Well, everybody assumed that all of us had seen the movie or at least knew the story. But I did not. I didn’t see the movie and I didn’t know the story. I knew my song and my parts, but I didn’t know the story. And as a result, I freaked out on dress rehearsal night and ran off the stage because I saw witches, I saw funny costumed people and I thought we were under attack.”

The Reigning Prince of Pop-Up Books  When he’s stuck on a problem, like how to get a hot-air balloon to hover above the page in “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz,” Robert Sabuda tries to tackle it in a linear way, a little bit at a time. For example, he started by figuring out how to make the paper circle go from flat to three dimensions. He decided to use string to pull from the center of the circle, stretching it out. Then he had to figure out what to attach the string to, and he tried wooden sticks. He tinkered with it until it worked.

Leave a Reply

