Oz in the News 1.16.11

KSU museum featuring Warhol exhibit A black-and-white Polaroid image of Margaret Hamilton, the actress who played the Wicked Witch of the West in MGM’s 1939 film classic “The Wizard of Oz,” is among the photographs on display at the Marianna Kistler Beach Museum of Art on the Kansas State University campus.  Liz Seaton, associate curator at the museum, said the Polaroid shows Hamilton posing in the witch’s costume.  “She lived near him,” Seaton said, explaining Andy Warhol and Hamilton were neighbors in New York City.  Hamilton’s photo was used later by Warhol to create a print that was included his “Myths” series.

Michael Crawford on his return to the stage “I recall vividly the first night of Phantom, when I first stood inside Her Majesty’s Theatre in my cape and mask. As the orchestra struck up those first monumental chords, I had to pinch myself.   It was exactly as though I was Michael the little boy again, thinking: ‘How  can I be here? Is this really happening to me?’ It’s exactly the feeling that I know I’ll have again on the opening night of The Wizard Of Oz.  It will be a hugely emotional and, in some ways, terrifying night, because, for me, fear is the close companion of the awe and wonder that I feel when I perform. Even after all these years I can still be poleaxed by stage fright.”

The Wizard Of Oz Arrives On The iPad Created by a team headed by illustrator Jackie Huang, the story app recognizes the simplicity of the original book, and also the playfulness of the film. Flat, line drawings in Kansas leads to 35 pages of full color interactive paper-cut illustrations in Oz. Like in the film, the differences between the two settings cannot be discounted.

Leave a Reply

